NREDA Banner

Message from the President

Jim Vermeer, NREDA President

Rural Issues

NREDA's Grassroots Advocacy Committee continues to stay abreast with pertinent rural development issues that may affect the vitality of rural America. The committee provides a Grassroots Advocacy Issues Paper each year for your review and use when visiting with your congressional representatives.

With the administration changes happening in Washington, D.C., now is the time to become educated on the issues facing rural America and how you can help influence our lawmakers this year.

In the Issues Paper, the following talking points communicate NREDA's position on rural development issues:

  1. Support rural development programming in the forthcoming Farm Bill
  2. Support for the REDLG program and proposed increases
  3. Opposes the EPA Clean Power Plan as currently designed
  4. Support for increased funding for transportation infrastructure
  5. Support for continued funding for the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act
  6. Support for continued federal funding for broadband-capable infrastructure
  7. Concern about the effects that the EPA's proposed "Waters of the U.S." (WOTUS) will have on rural development
  8. Affirms that it encourages the involvement of the utilities sector in rural economic development efforts
  9. Recognizes that biofuels and the Renewable Fuel Standard have a significant impact on rural America and contribute to our country's energy security and independence
  10. Recognizes that the Threatened and Endangered Species Act affects rural development

View an expanded narrative of the Grassroots Advocacy Issues Paper.

We depend on you to keep us abreast of the issues that face rural America. NREDA will do our best to advocate for common issues that impact our membership. This coming May, the board and committee chairs will visit our allied partners to strengthen our partnerships and express some of the unified concerns listed in the Issues Paper.

NREDA Leadership Awards

In recognition of outstanding leadership in the field of rural economic development, the NREDA seeks to honor deserving individuals across America. Nominees may be economic development professionals or rural electric cooperative/rural telephone staff or board members. Nominees are those who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in an economic development project resulting in the improvement of the quality of life, creation of new jobs, and opportunity for growth and development in rural America.

Click here for a list of previous NREDA Award winners.

The 2016 Rural Economic Development Leadership Award given to Mike Meissen,
Iowa Area Development Group, Des Moines, IA.  Pictured with Mike are
the Iowa area cooperatives who nominated him.
Press Release

2015 Rural Economic Development Leadership Award given to John Bradford,
formerly with Valley Telephone Cooperative Inc., Raymondville, TX

(L to R:) Dennis Mingyar, Awards Chair, Linda Salmonson, 2014 Award
Recipient, Clare Gustin, NREDA President
Press Release

NREDA | 1255 SW Prairie Trail Parkway | Ankeny, IA 50023 | Phone: (515) 284-1421 | Fax: (515) 334-1174